Zero To Hero Day 3: What’s On Your Mind?

Hey, folks. Today’s Zero To Hero assignment is all about thought. As in, what I was thinking when I started this blog. In a single word: frustration. I’m very shy, so I rarely talk to people. Writing has always been my preferred communication method. Problem was, I wasn’t writing; I was burned out and depressed. I was sick of the online communities I knew. Polymathically is actually my seventh attempt at creating some kind of online journal/communication medium. The first – and still ongoing – is my list of video game reviews. While it’s remained my most popular venture (standing at 1,691,719 hits as of this hour), it felt limiting; it took me years to realize I was worth more than that list. I tried expanding my efforts to a couple of blogs and a Tumblr, but they never went anywhere. I started a deviantART page for my photography, but its success has been minimal. Since fewer people read text-based reviews, I thought I could start a YouTube channel and do presentations…only to discover that my voice was way too soft.

I needed to write.

Or at least, do something new. On my birthday, I decided to take another plunge into the world of blogging. I’d never used WordPress before, but I’d read good things about it. I went in with the understanding that this wasn’t going to be just about video games; I’d spent too long focusing on one hobby. I could do so much more than that. My initial posts were fueled with frustration; I was sick and tired of being the only one bothering to actually look at my surroundings. There was also lingering doubts about how I’d be perceived; some of my interests are socially stigmatized, so I didn’t want things turning into a lurid escapade. But I couldn’t just sit back. If I wanted others to start wondering about their world, then I needed to inspire them. Two months later, I’m still going strong. I’m not some huge name (yet), but at least I’m doing something productive with my anger.

8 thoughts on “Zero To Hero Day 3: What’s On Your Mind?

  1. It’s interesting to me that you started with the feeling of frustration and ended it by calling it anger. I find the line between those two to be very thin, myself.

    I’m working out some of this stuff, myself. I have generalized anxiety disorder, and I’m a nerd, but then sometimes I just want to talk about my fiancee and my dog and my child. My blog has become a sort of home for that.

    • Yeah, my blog has kind of become a home away home. I’m pretty terrible at articulating things verbally, but writing it is no problem. Anger is a huge problem for me, and being frustrated about my situation was a big part of it. I’m just glad something good could come out of it.

  2. Nice post. I appreciate your honesty and can also say that I relate with your situation. I’m the kind of introvert that likes to keep quiet and observe, but has an “alter” personality that is displayed in public. Usually, I don’t speak much. At first, I thought it was because I was shy (though I am), but then it hit me: I’m quiet because I’m too busy paying attention to others, watching them, learning from them, and simply enjoying the world around me. However, I’m working on speaking more so people stop using me as their verbal punching bag when their day’s turned to shit. But like you, I’m most comfortable with pen in hand, because as much as I try, I will never win a verbal argument. (I’m the one that comes up with great zingers after the fact, hours after even.)

    • Well I guess we all come up with ‘great zingers’ once the ‘conversation’ if I dare call it, is over. But nowadays tooo many people talk and hear…but nearly nobody wants to ‘listen’ and ‘observe’. It is a gift! Don’t lose it….and share your experiences by writing about them….I found this to be effective in developing my ability to deal with people.

      • One sided debates sounds more accurate than conversations wouldn’t you say? Haha. And thanks, and I do hope to share a few of my observations over time. And I agree, thanks to my current job (as a framer), I have learned to work with all sorts of people (some anything but pleasant).

  3. I like that you were able to identify how the frustration morphed or revealed itself as anger. As a writer, I understand that need for writing, how it soothes the senses, and the burnout you spoke of. Social communities are great, but again you nailed it when you said they sometimes don’t offer much when we are within our minds, eh? Excellent post!

Leave a Reply

